Not So Silent Cinema

Live Music. Classic Silent Film.

Not So Silent Cinema composes and performs new, original scores for classic silent film.

The Fall of the House of Usher

Jean Epstein’s 1928 silent film “The Fall of the House of Usher” is a superb retelling of the classic Edgar Allen Poe story of the same name. In a haunting story of death and resurrection, Poe’s character, Usher, is trapped in a world where inanimate external reality seems to be a living extension of Usher’s inner psyche. The house comes alive, blurring the distinction between mind and matter.

Not-So-Silent-Cinema presents a brand-new score to this cinematic gem. It is a haunting score for strings, piano and granular synthesizer, capturing the eerie atmosphere of the film with a musical pallet that ranges from contemporary classical to abstract sound design.

Carlos Santiago-violin

Elizabeth Cary-violin

Brendan Cooney-piano

Chris Coyle-bass